DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

School dance... 800+ kids, any recommendations?

MusicMeister 5:02 PM - 24 October, 2006
Ok, I'm going back to my old high school this Saturday to play the homecoming dance a little more than 20 years after I graduated from there.

I've played a LOT of gigs and I'm not too worried about the musical choice. In the words of the owner of the company I'm doing this gig for - "It's white kids dancing to black music." Yes, he's a bigotted sexist asshole...

However, back to the gig. Anyone have any recommendations on handling 800+ kids at a school dance? I've done a lot of gigs over the years, but to be honest, this is my first gig with more than 500 people. And it's my old high school. And it's 20 years since I was there. And I was a pretty hardcore introvert in high school and didn't go to ANY dances so I have no point of reference of what the dance is supposed to be like (I was president of the computer club - need I say more?). And it's likely that I'm just overanalyzing the situation and need to relax like I tell Julls to do all the time.

Any hints? And yes, I'll be using that 'other' control system at the gig w/ SLDZ's and a trigger finger.... And yes, I'll post pics afterwards - be them good or bad....
DJ Michael Basic 5:42 PM - 24 October, 2006
Bring a gun.
OG Supernatural 6:02 PM - 24 October, 2006
Sounds like fun man...

Probabbly can't tell you anything that you don't already know.
Bump jams & have fun!

Place a clip board with a request sheet on it near your rig so when they want come up to make a request, you can just point to the clipboard. They catch on quick and will pretty much leave you alone and just write down stuff that you would probabbly end up playing anyway.
MusicMeister 7:44 PM - 24 October, 2006