DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Building Energy

automagp68 11:04 PM - 27 October, 2009
Hey guys

I was hoping you guys could give me some ideas

Im very new to SL3 and serato in general. A promoter friend of mine asked me for a cd. Ive never really done a big club before and this is kinda my little shot at the big dream. So here is my question.

What is the key to building energy in a set. I know there are going to be a million opinions on this, ( read the crowd. blah blah etc etc) but id like to hear them any way. Right now i need to put together a 30 or 40 min mix of all banging stuff. Last hour material. Im just curious what everyone thinks about a real banging demo cd. The club im going for is your typical dance club, mostly top40 remixes and some house music mixed with a few classics. If any one has any track suggestions on bangers right now that would be awsome as well. Thanks again!
DJ AFS 11:25 PM - 27 October, 2009
Whoa buddy.

Mixes ( for a point of reference):
Register @ SKAM Artist's website and listen to their mixes, they know what's up
Goto Beezo and listen to all of the Deckstar dude's mixes, they also know whats up

Tracks:
Goto Crooklyn Clan, Crack 4 DJs, Rated H, Strictly Hits for "hot remixes"
Check radio playlists for what's popular/listen your local top 40 radio station.

Building Energy:
Go out to the most crackin spot in town and see how the dj does it.

Good luck with that.....
mastermind 11:28 PM - 27 October, 2009
Quote:
Hey guys

Im very new to SL3 and serato in general. A promoter friend of mine asked me for a cd. Ive never really done a big club before and this is kinda my little shot at the big dream. So here is my question.