DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Mobile DJ new hire pay?

Fmbighair 3:23 AM - 28 August, 2018
I’ve been a musician all my life playing in bands, music recording degree, sales experience, excellent people skills. Just hired by mobile DJ company and told I will be a “DJ Assistant” for at least six months(6-7 hour shifts helping DJ photo booth etc $100 pay). I will get 1-2 events a month to start.

I told the owner that I am ambitious and my goal is 3-4 months assisting and then I’d like to headline and make at least $3-400 gig. He says THATS A REALISTIC GOAL IF YOURE MARKETABLE TO CLIENTS. REMEMBER, OUR CLIENTS CHOOSE THE DJS. I guess the DJ meets with the client 1-2 hour meeting and gets paid $15 hr.

He also offers a voluntary UNpaid DJ boot camp training.

Idk, sounds like a lot of dues paying here and a lot of factors that are out of my control? Any advice? I’m ambitious willing to do what it takes but I don’t like the feeling of being taken advantage of. What’s the best way to get in the business?
Fmbighair 3:57 AM - 28 August, 2018
Oh, I forgot to mention that the owner said I’d have to purchase my own laptop for DJ use only once I’m on my own but said he would let me use his if it’s a deal breaker.
577er 1:16 PM - 28 August, 2018
So if a client were to hire you directly today what could you provide in terms of equipment, experience, and skill?

I’m not being snarky. Let’s talk this through.
Fmbighair 2:24 PM - 28 August, 2018
Oh yeah, I get it. Your looking thought this as business owners eyes and he even admitted that the intro pay is not glamorous by any means.

I will answer your question directly.
Quipment- I have my own mid sized PA system, mics, cables, computer, etc. my talent and customer service skills are great. I’ve been in sales all my life and know how to talk to people, eye contact, dress and add value to a product I sell.