Serato Video General Discussion

Talk about Serato Video and Video-SL.

Serato Video with Windows and Nvidea G-Sync

Fullerlove 4:25 PM - 25 June, 2018
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Serato video side and was hoping someone could shed some light.

Lately I've been reading a lot about Apple's OS outperforming Windows when it comes to video DJing due to Window's Open SL. Mac just seem to run video well.

However, I honestly don't like Mac screens (gloss) and cannot justify buying a new one with their ridiculous price tag. Can also imagine many 'love' the touch bar and lack of USB and ethernet connections.

While Mix Emergency doesn't have a Windows version, would something like Serato benefit from a G Sync laptop such as an Alienware of Asus ROG. While the graphics cards are great on their own it's the G Sync that seem to help with the tearing.

Help and advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks everyone.
DJ Tecniq 5:13 PM - 25 June, 2018
There’s really no way to tell unless you purchase it and test it out. I’ve hesrd windows users having high spec video cards and still have issues.
Fullerlove 5:15 PM - 25 June, 2018
Quote:
There’s really no way to tell unless you purchase it and test it out. I’ve hesrd windows users having high spec video cards and still have issues.

Thank you for the reply. I suppose if it is the laptop screen that is G-Sync it won't make music difference when video is sent to external club monitors. There are some things that Windows thrashes Mac with, but very interested to find out why Mac holds it's colours with video.
Hermanator 3:49 PM - 27 June, 2018