Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

Beatmatching help

Lenst 2:34 PM - 8 December, 2017
Hey - Sorry if this shouldn’t be in here or whatever

I’m quite new to mixing and I currently using my first set up, a pioneer ddj sb2. When I first got the controller I was eager to start mixing so would manually set the pitch however would use the screen. Now I’m tryna kick the habit and only use my ears.

I have 2 issues

1. Some people say the can match up in about 4-5 seconds but I just don’t get that, even if I get it close/right I still have to wait a while to see if the beats stay lined up or not, when gradually nudging up i end up needing to wait for at least a minute total - any tips for recognising the drift faster?

2. I’ve kinda gotten used to matching beats when the cross fader is in the centre and both tracks are coming out of the speakers, however I feel like I need to learn all over again when I try to do it through headphones, any tips for defining the beat through headphones?

One last question, does everyone feel this hopeless when they first start tryna sync bpm by ear?

Thanks in advance
raedonquan 3:26 PM - 8 December, 2017
practice practice practice..... just concentrate on the down beat....or try matching the kick drum.... thats how i started
Aptidda 5:48 PM - 8 December, 2017
make sure to set a cue point on a up or down beat whichever you prefer, or some even set it on the clap or snare. That way you can practice dropping the beat at the right time. That will start your mix at the best time, from there you need to practice and master nudging the track and adjusting the pitch slider.

you will eventually get it but need to keep it moving.
RR437T 10:04 PM - 8 December, 2017