DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

EV ETX or Pioneer XPRS

Dennison 5:37 PM - 23 October, 2017
Hey guys! I'm looking into the Electro-Voice ETX12p VS. the Pioneer XPRS12. Trying to fill a venue of about 600 people. 4 speakers is my limit, with a budget of $1800 for each top cab. NOT looking for a 3-way cabinet, if I was, I would go for the ETX35p.
DJKayce 1:35 AM - 24 October, 2017
Pioneer XPRS12. I have used both speakers. ETX limits too much for my liking but it good speaker. Pioneer is knock on wood. Very very loud and hard to limit. Been using it since they came out. Plus its cheaper now than EV.
I wouldn't say the same with their subs XPRS215. Not that good. Am now waiting on the new XPRS10. Same specs with 12 & 15.
J Hennessy 8:36 PM - 24 October, 2017
I have no experience with the Pioneer XPRS but I love my ETX 12p tops for smaller spaces. The sounds quality is very nice, even when they're pushed hard. The DSP on the back is very user friendly and easy to figure out. I don't think they'll be enough for 600 people though, assuming you're looking for club type volume. If you're getting 4 tops the ETX35P sounds like the better way to cover that size of a space because they'll array better.
dj_soo 4:15 AM - 25 October, 2017
RCF 745s

For 600 people you'll need subs tho, and lots of them.
DJ Tracktion 4:39 PM - 25 October, 2017
Quote:
RCF 745s

For 600 people you'll need subs tho, and lots of them.

This.
Smoke21 1:52 AM - 30 October, 2017
How about the srx 800 series ?
DJ gsr 3:30 AM - 30 October, 2017
Can't decide either srx 800 series or Yamaha dsr ?
Arjun B 6:37 PM - 30 October, 2017
Both great speakers, you can't go wrong with either
Dennison 10:12 AM - 1 November, 2017
Quote:
How about the srx 800 series ?