Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

Serato & Rane 64 - Audio Drop Out but Interface Appears Fine

Samuel Andres 9:05 PM - 15 October, 2017
Hello,

Recently (~2 months) I have been experiencing unexplained audio drop outs with Serato and my Rane 64 mixer. Previously, I have been using my Rane 64 mixer with Serato for 2+ years without any issues or audio drop outs...so this is a new issue.

Here is my setup:
> 2 Pioneer CDJ2000 Nexus 2 connected two each other via an ethernet switch and usb hub
> 1 Rane 64 mixer
> Windows 10 Lenovo laptop

NOTE: I have the CDJ2000NX2s and Rane 64 connected into an external powered USB hub and then into into my laptop.

Here's what happens: everything seems to operating fine while playing audio via HID CDJ mode in Serato. Then I hear an audible click/pop and the audio completely cuts out. The Serato interface, however, looks completely normal and appears to still be connected to the mixer as if nothing has happened. The waveforms are moving and I can even control the program by manipulating the CDJ platters. But no audio is playing through/from the mixer. The audio meters are completely dead as if the program has been muted. I have to disconnect and reconnect the mixer from the laptop in order to get the audio back.

When this first happened, I attempted the following:
> I checked and I was using an older version of Serato (1.9.7) than the most current one (1.9.8). So I upgraded.
> I uninstalled and reinstalled the Rane drivers for the 64.
> I re-ran through the recommended optimizations for Serato: support.serato.com
> The only "issue" I found was with one of the USB Power Management settings. One USB Root Hub still had the “Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power” checked...so I unchecked it.