DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

PA setup for about 1000 people

SoundWizard 2:05 AM - 16 August, 2017
Hello,

I am new to this forum, Pro Sound and live Mixing is my passion. I am not a professional DJ or Sound Guy but I setup and run event for my Indian Community as free service.

I am in need to buy new Audio equipment to accommodate community events. Here are some detail about events.

1. We host event at civic center which is about 70' wide X 125' long. We host may be 10 events a year.
2. Hall is about 24' high and not so much acoustic.
3. This is not a permanent setup. we tear down after every event and then store them to air conditioned storage.
4. Most events has live performance of Bollywood dance, Navratri etc, concert type environment. Not a quite audience.
5. We have about 700 to 900+ people in hall.

I am considering below configuration. I would like to get input from some you to point me toward right direction. My budget is somewhat flexible.

a. 4 X EV ETX-12p and 2 X EV ETX-18sp
b. 4 X JBL SRX 812P/SRX 835P and 2 X JBL SRX 818SP
c. 4 X JBL VRX932LAP and 2 X JBL 918SP
4. I heard RCF is also good but not sure which line is best for my need.

I want to buy rig that sound good for live events, last long and cost effective. Any help/suggestion is much appreciated.
dj_soo 4:34 AM - 16 August, 2017
you don't really want to use 4 of the 2-way boxes as they aren't really designed for arraying and will exhibit comb filtering.

Either look at 3-way tops like the ETX35P or SRX 835Ps or an array system like the JBL VRX or the RCF NXL24As.

Subs might be lacking as well as 4 would balance a bit better than a pair, but for live bands, you might be okay with 2.
pdidy 5:05 AM - 16 August, 2017
4 x jbl SRX 835P & 4 JBL SRX828SP (for rooms of this size 8 x 18" subs are recommended)
pdidy 5:11 AM - 16 August, 2017
Taipanic 3:57 PM - 16 August, 2017