Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

I decided to use the Pioneer DJM 900NXS2, Why I am force to pay for Serato 1.96?

Glass Dee Entertainment Atlanta DJ 2:40 PM - 11 June, 2017
I have the Serato SL1 and SL3 interface, Rane 57, Rane 61, Rane 62, Rane 68, NS7 I & II, Mixtrack Pro II, Pioneer S9, Pioneer DJM 900NXS and the Pioneer DJM 900NXS2. I'm not going to even tell you how many sets of CDJs I have. I've been using Serato DJ for 3 years. Just for basic mixing and scratching. However, why when I upgraded to Serato DJ 1.96, because Serato finally made it compatible with the DJM 900NXS2, I have a 14 days trail in my face? I was thinking about getting the Rane 57II. Now I am afraid to. I didn't try my Pioneer S9 mixer yet. Again!! Why I have a 14 day trail in my face when purchased 10s of thousands of dollars worth of Serato product. I think it just the principle. Sorry for the grammatical errors. Please explain to me!! What is my alternative option?
AddamXavier 3:00 PM - 11 June, 2017
Well, the main alternative would be to use the SL3 in conjunction with the DJM. The DJM 900NXS2 is a "Serato DJ Upgrade Ready" mixer (serato.com). This is actually the perfect time to need to buy the SDJ license. They are having a sale on the SDJ Suite, which means everything they sale is $150 (US) and that will work with any hardware (store.serato.com). I actually bought it on the last sale even though I only have a SL3, but i wanted to be ready for anything for the future.

I can't speak to the decisions made, but most of this has sounded like it's a bit of politics from Pioneer.

You'd still have to buy a Rekordbox DJ/DVS license with this mixer, so I'm betting it's Pioneer not wanting more people to use SDJ by giving the SDJ upgrade with it.

Serato wants to have "Serato DJ Ready" on as many devices as possible, but hardware manufacturer's (specifically Pioneer) have their own agenda's that don't always coincide.