DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Need help on a beginner DJ controller for Serato!

bobby_still 8:52 PM - 21 October, 2016
I started out on Mixxx and am now very interested in making Serato my DJ software of choice. I've been playing with the intro/lite version and love how it feels and its stability, but obviously I need an "all in one" controller.

I have it narrowed down to the Numark Mixtrack Pro 3 and the Pioneer DDJ-SB2. I know these are two "common" Serato intro controllers, are similarly priced, and within my budget (I really can't afford much more esp bc I have to also get full version of Serato DJ). I was reading about their primary differences here equipboard.com , but the choice is still tough! I'm not really concerned about buying into "the Pioneer brand" so that's not an issue. Are the trim knobs on the SB2 game changers? I'm new to this, so how often do you more experienced DJs use the trim knobs? Everyone laments they're not there on the Mixtrack... but how much are the used actually lol.

Thanks in advance!
Logisticalstyles 2:56 PM - 22 October, 2016
I have an SB2 and it gets the job done for me. I use it for small gigs and sports bar gigs where they just need me to play some music. I've never used the Mixtrack so I can't compare the two. I do use the trim knobs when I play on the SB2. The SB2 does have some features that I just don't use. The Filter dad is a perfect example. I never turn that on at a gig. I've tried it at home and it just seems a bit useless to me. If I had a chance to doit over again I would have just an SR. In fact I may end up upgrading to the SR.
bobby_still 4:13 PM - 24 October, 2016
Interesting, thanks. I'm pretty new to this so sorry for the n00b question, but how frequently do you use the trim knobs in a performance? Is it something you are riding the whole time?