Serato Video General Discussion

Talk about Serato Video and Video-SL.

Latency in Serato Video - beyond the easy fix

DJ Weather 6:30 PM - 16 September, 2016
Hi all,

After downloading Serato DJ 1.9.2 along with Serato Video, I have experienced major latency. I am hip hop DJ and so the ability to scratch videos is probably the single most important thing to me in using Serato Video, as I am also a professional video editor and there are many other preferable pieces of software that allow me to play, control and manipulate video on the fly.

Here's what's going on:
Upon opening Serato DJ I typically have no latency, it comes into play when I open Video or even just after having Serato DJ open for a few minutes in use. I have tried decreasing my video buffer size while increasing my USB Buffer (not my first rodeo) and get very little results. In fact if I increase the USB Buffer to 2GB I get audio distortion and crackle.

I am using a late 2015 Macbook Pro completely beefed out with a 2.8 GHZ Intel Core i, 16 GB of Ram, a Radeon Graphics Card and over 500GB of free space on my hard drive and OS 10.11.6 El Capitan. This is my video editing travel machine, which handles After Effects and Cinema 4D just fine, so there's no reason it shouldn't fly using Serato Video.

Prior to upgrading my Serato DJ and adding in Video it worked perfectly with 0 latency.

Please help, I have upcoming gigs and this really screwing me. All tutorials I can find just cover the things I have already played with in regards to allocating memory, adjusting USB Buffer, etc.

Huge thanks if you can help me sort this. Serrate support is taking a long time to get back to me.

Cheers!
DJ Weather 6:32 PM - 16 September, 2016
I'd also note this latency comes in both audio and video and even when no video is loaded my audio playback still has latency (approx 1/2 second)
popnwave 8:48 PM - 16 September, 2016