DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Start Djing with Digital Vinyl Sistem

Alex Boneless 8:15 PM - 27 April, 2016
What's up guys? I'm here to ask a couple question about djing with Digital vinyl sistems and the hardware required.
I'm new into DJing, I have recently got into music production and I'd like to add djing to my skill, I don't own a setup yet but I know the basics.
I'm into Hip Hop and I would love to learn how to scratch and become a turntablist. I'm also a little into Deep House and chill, faster music than hip hop so i'd probably mix that genre in public as I think it's easier to entertain people even with lower skills, while I'll be taking my time to learn how to do my stuffs for hip hop djing.

I just bought Serato DJ 'cause it was 50%sale these days and it's the dj software i'm most familiar with, so i'd stick with it.
I'm still a student so I don't have a real budget to spend, probably just what a Birthday presents from a few relatives can get me, let's say 500€. Since I'd rather spent these money on a setup that can last me a while and i wouldn't need to replace before i feel to i'm here posting questions.

Let's come to the questions:
-Is it possible to at least learn how to scratch on a DJ controller? (I've seen and did some researches on the Reloop Terminal Mix series and Gemini G4V)
-Is the turntable route THE ONLY WAY to go? (I know is the right way, i'll get to that anyway sooner or later)