Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

Apple Ends Support for QuickTime for Windows

Olee 7:07 PM - 15 April, 2016
US government recommends to uninstall QuickTime for Windows users.
www.us-cert.gov
www.theverge.com

I'd like to hear from the Serato guys on how to deal with this situation.

Thanks!
Versionist 9:13 PM - 15 April, 2016
Why do you need QuickTime for Serato? I always skip that part of the installation.
The Return of Dj Sparky 9:55 PM - 15 April, 2016
Quote:
Why do you need QuickTime for Serato?

well if you want to use certain audio and video formats that you need quick time for serato
The Return of Dj Sparky 9:57 PM - 15 April, 2016
also because merica recommends uninstalling quicktime your a terrorist if you don't comply
wildchild6907 10:17 PM - 15 April, 2016
what.does.that.have.to.do.with.djing.in.general.........i.dont.trust.t
hem.cowards.
wildchild6907 10:17 PM - 15 April, 2016
im a army vet...trust me dont trust them....they are not in ur best intrest
Beau_Barger 10:57 PM - 15 April, 2016
Right, its actually a heap vulnerability if you have QT. So all those cute "see your aura color" things on Facebook, or even nice 3D screen saver sites, they can remotely execute code, thus activating a payload, through your browser if you have QT installed on Windows.
Beau_Barger 10:59 PM - 15 April, 2016
Also, @wildchild6907 thanks for your service.
Lightning 2:23 PM - 17 April, 2016
Maybe M$ should no longer support Office on Mac. This is stupid that post Job'S Apple would even consider this as ok. Doesn't give any developers much time to come out with a backout strategy for programs that use QT dependency.
I'll probably wind up uninstalling SDJ until this security issue is resolved. Knowing Serato's take on it, they will probably recommend that we keep our laptops air gapped indefinitely.

www.inc.com
DJ Aquapimp 6:47 PM - 18 April, 2016