Serato Video General Discussion

Talk about Serato Video and Video-SL.

Encoding Settings?

Johnny.S 6:43 PM - 26 September, 2015
So Naturally Im a producer and use Ableton Heavily. Now I got into making my own videos for the edits and remixes I do. Its fairly easy to use however I don't know the encoding settings and tried doing a search here but no real answer?

My question is what are the best encoding settings for video djing I notice that videos I have encoded and I played around with 720 and 1080 but they are fairly large! Right now my encoding settings in ableton are

Video Format: H.264
Data rate: 8000
Image Size: 1920x1080 HD
Frame Rate: 60
Key Frame: manual 20 frames?

are these settings to high I was thinking of just encoding them in 720 instead and bump down the frame rate to 30? At this rate my video library is going to take alot of space!

Also I am grabbing the videos from youtube using 4k Video downloader and have the smart settings on 1080 am I really grabbing 1080 or is it really just 720? because I want to know there is no point to upconvert if the quality is really 720 if you know what i mean :)

So guys appreciate the input
Thanks
Code:E 7:17 PM - 26 September, 2015
Quote:
I don't know the encoding settings and tried doing a search here but no real answer?

I have seen this asked many of times also. It seems to be a closely guarded secret by the video producer community. Trial and error seems to be the way each producer has come up with there own settings.
Quote:
I was thinking of just encoding them in 720

I doubt your ever playing on systems that would be able tell the difference between the two. So I would do 720.
Quote:
At this rate my video library is going to take alot of space!

I see guys with 4TB drive in there bag for video's.
Quote:
Also I am grabbing the videos from youtube