DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Practice tips

eyflyguy 7:54 PM - 27 June, 2015
Whats some good pointers for beginner dj's? I wouldnt so much say im a beginner, but im not advanced just yet. I still practice practice practice everyday. but what are some tips you guys can give? I also have a couple questions:

if im creating a mix to upload, or even if I was to do a live radio show, just something where someone can listen to my mixes, whats a good typical length to play each song? 1 verse, 1 hook? I guess my main question is if im not DJing a live set with a live audience infront of me, how long should I play each song for?
 6 9:30 PM - 27 June, 2015
Well, it all depends on what hardware and software you're using. So let's start there. What are you DJing for?

As far as people listening to you, I would go with the 2 verse 2 hook rule. For practice, 1 verse and 1 hook.

Anything recorded, pretend you're doing it for a live audience and put yourself on their situation.

And please don't rush through songs like some fools do. That whole 150 songs in one hour is just ridiculous.

nm
eyflyguy 10:48 PM - 27 June, 2015
Quote:
Well, it all depends on what hardware and software you're using. So let's start there. What are you DJing for?

As far as people listening to you, I would go with the 2 verse 2 hook rule. For practice, 1 verse and 1 hook.

Anything recorded, pretend you're doing it for a live audience and put yourself on their situation.

And please don't rush through songs like some fools do. That whole 150 songs in one hour is just ridiculous.

nm

yea I noticed sometimes I do rush through songs when im at home practicing. I just figure 'im at home so why not' so I would sometimes switch after 1 hook or 1 chorus. which ever comes first. but you saying I should just treat each practice like its a live set?