DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

bridged vs stereo

agentorange 5:30 PM - 22 April, 2009
for the knowledgeable heads only:

why wouldn't everybody want to work off of bridged (mono) mode being that you get more than double the output? then daisy-chain a second cabinet off of that?

ex:

i have 2 srx718s and a xti2000. the 718s @8 ohms needs 800 watts. the crown at 8ohms produces 475/channel (stereo). now if i bridge this amp and daisy chain the cabinets ill get 2000 watts (bridged @ 4 ohms).

i'm not an expert, but slowly wrapping my finger around the science of it; but, why wouldn't i want to bridge and daisy-chain all the time? i know there is a pro and a con to this, i just need a definitive answer.

i'd appreciate your input, knowledgeable heads only.

thanks,
ao
sopranosupasta 1:38 PM - 23 April, 2009
running bridged puts much more stress on the amps. It will run hotter, risk thermal shutdown and overall reduce the life of the amp.

Also, you lose some definition and separation running mono vs stereo.

That being said, 90% of all major club systems are mono systems.
agentorange 1:47 PM - 23 April, 2009
so clubs run bridged all the time is what you're telling me? but they risk the life span of their amps?
sopranosupasta 5:56 PM - 23 April, 2009
yep.
shiestO! 9:03 PM - 23 April, 2009
^^that's what i've heard also.
FunkyRob 10:32 PM - 23 April, 2009
I'm not the most knowledgeable, but aren't most songs recorded to sound better in stereo?

So I imagine that playing a stereo recording in mono won't sound as 'nice'.
JayDJ130 11:46 PM - 23 April, 2009
First off, Bridged and mono are two different things.

Mono means you are summing the left and right channels of an audio source, which means you loose some of the sound that is panned to the left and right in the recording. You end up with one audio channel instead of two.