Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

Using 4 decks on DDJ-SR

Mr SidRaj 12:32 PM - 13 July, 2014
Hi guys

I am new to Serato, and started using last week after buying my Pioneer DDJ-SR. I believe the controller is meant to be able to control 4 decks through the deck-switch buttons. However, while the MIDI commands do indeed work, I have a basic question -

How can I know the current status of the EQs and volume fader on each deck? There doesn't seem to be a Mixer section on screen in Serato. Essentially, with the 'soft takeover' feature on DDJ-SR to control 4 decks, I need to be able to tell exactly where my EQs and volume are with just a glance at the screen. But I can't seem to be able to do so now.

Am I doing something wrong? Is it an overlooked feature? If so, how are most people able to use 4 decks on DDJ-SR without knowing exactly what the mixer status is?

I hope I have been clear in my question. Happy to clarify if needed.

Thanks a lot
Sid
WildcardX 2:44 PM - 14 July, 2014
I have the SR as well and it is a 2 channel mixer but when you switch the layer, the LED meters would display what levels are at and similarly the controls for that deck are used for the assignment of the channel; so Channel 1 or side A if you chose would control Deck 1 and 3 depending on the layer you have engaged at any point in time and the same would be for Side be with Deck 2 & 4. So when you switch your layer the hard ware will show what is on that deck and you can change it with the respective channel for that deck. The software, from what I understand doesn't have anything really to control this that I came across so it all comes down to your hardware Layer assignment relative to your channels on the 2 Channel Mixer of the SR. Hope that helps some.
Mr SidRaj 3:20 AM - 16 July, 2014
Thanks WildcardX. I understand what you are saying.