DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

How does Valentines Day weekend effect your residency?

DJ Mr. $ 10:18 PM - 14 February, 2009
Ok, so i play at the same spot on friday and saturday nights. This is my first year there. Last night, our early crowd from 12-1:15 was about half of what we typically have on a friday (i play from 12-3), the main crowd from 1:15-2:30 was almost as busy as a normal friday, but people were leaving a lot earlier then normal (from my room and the other room, and i was playing a solid set). At the end of the night I asked the manager if she expected a drop off tonight, and she said that usually Valentines Day is busier for them because there are so many single people in this college town.

So what experiences do you guys have on past valentines days and how was the crowd at your residency last night?

I know that there will be a lot of single horney girls out tonight, i'll sign up for that every night.
DCM 4:27 AM - 15 February, 2009
last night was slightly lighter than a normal Friday, but tonight is gonna be crazy. i'm bringin the A game
Caramac 10:05 AM - 16 February, 2009
My friday night was busy but I had my 1st Friday 13th issue. Lol. I wire everything up and start turning everything on. Put a record on and wonder why no sound is coming out. Check my cables and everything is wired up fine. Look at the mixer and realise the LED's aren't flashing. I check the mixer is plugged in and on. I've got an old Vestax 05 and I think it's finally shit the bed and doesn't want to work. A bit pissed as I have no other mixer with me and I'm miles from my yard to go get my back up. Not pissed because I've had this mixer for years and have battered it week in week out since I brought it. It's been good to me.