Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

Tips for editing beat grids!?!?

prandawg 1:23 AM - 26 January, 2014
Ok so im new to editing beat grids and i have seriously been struggling. So i get the whole place the marker on the downbeat thing but for some reason in later parts of the songs the markers will be off?? this does not make sense as all of my music is electronic so there is no way that there is any beat change.

So as of now the way i set beat grids is with my controller plugged in and i have a song with a beat grid that i know is correct and i play it over the song of the beat grid that i am setting and i gradually adjust it. I want to know the way you guys edit beat grids and any tips for doing it quickly as i have a LOT of beat grids to edit!
DJ Marv the Maverick 1:04 PM - 26 January, 2014
i'm no expert

1. the tempo/bpm might be slightly off, that leads to the grid being off slightly

2. set your beatmarker, scroll into the track and adjust as needed.

3. even in ableton the warpmarkers go off.

4. going through this slow process will let you know your tracks better
prandawg 3:48 PM - 26 January, 2014
Quote:
i'm no expert

1. the tempo/bpm might be slightly off, that leads to the grid being off slightly

2. set your beatmarker, scroll into the track and adjust as needed.

3. even in ableton the warpmarkers go off.

4. going through this slow process will let you know your tracks better

I already know the bpm's of most of my tracks.. i use mixmeister which is very accurate to detect bpm's and in the rare case that it gets it wrong i look up the track bpm on beatport. Getting the correct bpm is not a worry for me. I need tips for making the beatgrids good and editing them well and quickly
DJ Marv the Maverick 4:37 PM - 26 January, 2014
It takes me 15 - 20 secs to grid a track (edm/hiphop)

I grid whilst i'm importing new tunes and in some situations i grid whilst playing live.