DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

New DJ, New Mix, Open to All Criticism

DJ Trevy Trev 4:43 AM - 12 November, 2013
New my particular genre of music but I want to be well rounded and not just one dimensional.

Like the subject heading says, all criticism is appreciated! I'm fairly new to DJ-ing and would like the opinion of other DJ's rather than my friends who think practically anything sounds good.

soundcloud.com

Thanks for looking.
DJ Trevy Trev 5:54 AM - 12 November, 2013
Not my*
Discobee 7:31 AM - 12 November, 2013
Could use some work in the following areas:

1. Phrasing...several transitions went vocals over vocals
2. Level control....many of the incoming songs began too high rather than a nice gradual entry
3. Song selection....some songs just didn't flow nicely together...Katy Perry Roar ~ J Cole Workout; What's My Name ~ Dangerous ~ Call Me Maybe.....but that's just my own ears and could be a subjective opinion.

Practice makes perfect : )
Discobee 7:33 AM - 12 November, 2013
and the Call Me Maybe ~ Please Don't Stop The Music was a little yikesy too....lol.
DJ Trevy Trev 7:39 AM - 12 November, 2013
Quote:
Could use some work in the following areas:

1. Phrasing...several transitions went vocals over vocals
2. Level control....many of the incoming songs began too high rather than a nice gradual entry
3. Song selection....some songs just didn't flow nicely together...Katy Perry Roar ~ J Cole Workout; What's My Name ~ Dangerous ~ Call Me Maybe.....but that's just my own ears and could be a subjective opinion.

Practice makes perfect : )

WOW YOU'RE SUCH A HATER!! Jk jk hahaha but okay I will take note of all of this. I do need to look out for incoming volume levels I've noticed that.

Appreciate the feed back!
RobDJ dotcom 8:06 PM - 12 November, 2013
Quote:
WOW YOU'RE SUCH A HATER!! Jk jk hahaha!