Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

no sound at all through one channel, have tried everything.

Product
Scratch Live
Version
Hardware
Rane SL1
Computer
Mac
OS
Platform
-
Clive Simpson 9:21 AM - 22 August, 2013
I have been running sl1 for several years with no probs. I am currently using mountain lion 10.7.4 and it had been working fine until this week. No I can get no sound through one channel/deck at all. I have changed decks, mixer, speakers, amp, control records, stylus all to no avail. I uninstalled all serato software from my mac including drivers then downloaded 2.5.0 to start again. I got a USB
USBExpressCardCantWake_Huawei.kext error message. I got some advice on how to get rid of this online and followed it. Reloaded and still exactly the same only worse! Now just extremely faint on one channel, nothing still on the other and now the extremely faint sound is only coming out of one of my speakers. I downloaded 2.5.0 to my dad's windows 7 laptop but it would not allow the drivers to be installed and got a hardware not connected message where it clearly was. I am completely at my wits end. Could it be the box? A sound engineer has checked all audio hardware and sees no apparent problems please please please help!!
Rane, Support
Zach S 4:42 PM - 22 August, 2013
Hey Clive,

It could be the box but at this point you need to try it on another computer. Preferably a Mac so you don't have to deal with the driver BS of Windows.
If you don't have a Mac follow these steps to get the device seen on Windows:

Click on the Start menu.
Type in the letters UAC into the search field.
Click on the one thing that pops up.
Move the slider in the next window all the way down to 'never'.
Restart your computer.

Once done, you will need to open the 'device manager':

Click Start menu.
Right click on Computer and choose 'manage'.
Click on the 'device manager'.