DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Opening set to impress

PumpkinHead 11:41 PM - 1 August, 2013
I've been given the opportunity to do an opening set, for a club I'm very interested in playing at permanently, as a trial.
The club is straight Hip hop and R&B with a little dancehall here and there - no EDM. I'm more of an open format DJ but I love playing Hip Hop and R&B (I've just never had the opportunity before at the clubs I'm normally booked at).
For the most part 99% of my gigs I play the whole night myself. Building up the music, doing the whole musical journey throughout the night. So, I've never done a specific "opening" set before, as a result the 1-2hrs restriction has me feeling a little unsure.
Any tips on the opening set and how I can impress?
Dj-M.Bezzle 1:16 AM - 2 August, 2013
Quote:
I've been given the opportunity to do an opening set, for a club I'm very interested in playing at permanently, as a trial.
The club is straight Hip hop and R&B with a little dancehall here and there - no EDM. I'm more of an open format DJ but I love playing Hip Hop and R&B (I've just never had the opportunity before at the clubs I'm normally booked at).
For the most part 99% of my gigs I play the whole night myself. Building up the music, doing the whole musical journey throughout the night. So, I've never done a specific "opening" set before, as a result the 1-2hrs restriction has me feeling a little unsure.
Any tips on the opening set and how I can impress?

best tip: dont try to impress, dont use the opening gig to try and stepstone up, yuor jobs to warm up the crowd. If you want to impress do it by digging your crates and finding some good throwback joints and good warm up music, dont drop current bangers or try to upstage the headliner.
the_black_one 1:20 AM - 2 August, 2013