How-to: Disable User Account Control (UAC)

Having issues updating old crates or saving new crates?

ID3 tag info not saving properly?

Are you using Windows 7, 8 or Windows Vista?

If so, disabling User Account Control (UAC) typically resolves the above issues. User Account Control (UAC) is a feature in Windows designed to prevent unauthorized changes to your computer. Unfortunately, UAC can also prevent Scratch Live from making changes to crates, database files, audio files and etc. Basically, UAC blocks Scratch Live's ability to create and/or edit files and Disabling UAC should resolve these issues and prevent further occurrences.

Disabling UAC on Windows Vista

Open up the Windows Control Panel, and type in “UAC” into the search box. Click the link for “Turn User Account Control (UAC) on or off”.

Control Panel Search
Control Panel Search

On the next screen uncheck the “Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer” option and then click the OK button.

Uncheck Use User Account Control (UAC) Option
Uncheck Use User Account Control (UAC) Option

Windows Vista should prompt you to restart. A reboot is required before the changes take effect.

Disabling UAC on Windows 7

Windows 7 makes it easier to disable UAC.

Type UAC into the start menu or Control Panel search box.

Type UAC into the start menu or Control Panel search box
Type UAC into the start menu or Control Panel search box

Drag the slider down to Never Notify and then click the OK button.

Drag Slider Down to Never Notify
Drag Slider Down to Never Notify

Windows 7 should prompt you to restart. A reboot is required before the changes take effect.

Disabling UAC on Windows 8

With Windows 8, accessing the User Account Control settings is slightly different.

Go to the Windows 8 Search Charm and type “Change User Account Settings”.

If you're using a mouse, point to the upper-right or the lower-right corner of the screen, move up or down, and then click the Search Charm.

Click the Change User Account Control Settings link.

Drag the slider down to Never Notify and then click the OK button.

Windows 8 should now prompt you to restart. A reboot is required before the changes take effect.

Note: Disabling UAC may lead to a less secure system.


Did you find this useful?   Yes    No