Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

Drop outs and crashes

Product
ITCH
Version
Hardware
Novation TWITCH
Computer
Mac
OS
Platform
-
DJLacosteNYC 8:20 PM - 13 February, 2013
I've been using Serato Itch for 6+ months. I get a lot of sound drop outs and sometimes it just crashes and I have to restart Serato losing my recordings and play history :(

It happened with Allen & Heath DX controller so I bought Twitch and I still get the same problems. I have no problems with Traktor or DJay by Algoriddim. What's the problem???

I'm a pro DJ and need a reliable software. This should be more stable. What can I do???

Thanks for your help.
Serato, Support
Matt P 10:52 PM - 17 February, 2013
Hi DJLacosteNYC,

I'm sorry to hear of this. I have a few questions...
When you are playing are you hitting the limiter often? its the little light in the top right hand side of the screen. If its going red often you will have to lower your output level and adjust your trims. This is known to cause dropouts.

There are a few other things you can try here - serato.com

Let me know how you get along with that.

Matt P
DJLacosteNYC 5:42 PM - 19 February, 2013
Thanks for the reply. I occasionally do hit the limiter but i try to avoid hitting the red.
However, this doesn't seem to make any sense. Besides being a professional DJ I'm also a recording engineer. If Serato's limiter is causing drop-outs, that's a serious and poorly designed software defect. I use programs like Ableton with dozens of complex processing all running in real-time and many multiple tracks and only when I'm pushing my processor to the very limit do I get audio glitches. With simply only 2 tracks of audio running on a single bus limiter, I can't imagine why hitting the limiter would cause out-right audio drop-outs.