Serato Video General Discussion

Talk about Serato Video and Video-SL.

Serato Video freezes the whole night with Macbook Pro Retina? Why?

DJ Rozz 2:45 AM - 16 October, 2012
Hello everyone this is my first post and wanted to say hello to you all. I am new to Serato Video. My problem is every time I play it always freezes up. I am not sure what is going on? I have seen many topics about this. At first I thought it was my External then my Macbook. I am not sure what's going on? I see other video DJ's go a whole set the whole night with out one freeze? I have deleted all my bad files as well.

Here is what I am using

DJ SET UP

2 Pioneer CDJ 2000'S

1 Pioneer DJM 900 MIXER

COMPUTER

Apple® - MacBook® Pro with Retina Display - 15.4" Display - 8GB Memory - 256GB Flash Storage

EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE

G-Technology 1TB GDRIVE Mobile USB 3.0
DJ Rozz 2:46 AM - 16 October, 2012
When I say freezes up the rainbow ball just spins after I drop a track into the empty deck, but the music still plays, just have to restart in order for it to work. It normally plays a few tracks but then it freezes up again. Not sure why.
djpuma_gemini 2:56 AM - 16 October, 2012
USB 3.0 might be the issue.
DJ Rozz 3:31 AM - 16 October, 2012
Quote:
USB 3.0 might be the issue.
Why would that be? Wouldn't it be faster since I would be doing video?
Niro 3:52 AM - 16 October, 2012
Yes, but new technology. Drivers and stuff not worked out yet.
DJ Rozz 4:05 AM - 16 October, 2012
Quote:
Yes, but new technology. Drivers and stuff not worked out yet.
How long do you think it will be before they get that done? Any idea? I just paid a lot for this Mac. I really do like it, but should I take it back and just use my older Mac Book?
djpuma_gemini 4:28 AM - 16 October, 2012
First try playing your videos off of a different external and see if that is the problem.
DJ Rozz 4:30 AM - 16 October, 2012
They told me that was the best one, do know of any others?
DJ DisGrace 5:04 AM - 16 October, 2012