Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

Link matching songs

dj_phonetic 11:09 AM - 17 September, 2010
It would be great to have a feature which allows you to link songs to another song, so that when you select a song the predefined linked songs automatically show up in a eg split screen view of the file browser.
-> less searching
-> better library organization
-> more intuitive sets
-> less time with hands on keyboard
marcA 12:19 PM - 17 September, 2010
+1
kraal 1:02 PM - 17 September, 2010
sort of like the genius search in itunes?
dj_phonetic 1:23 PM - 17 September, 2010
Quite of, but you previously linked the tracks together. So you when you realize that eg track A and track B play well along with track C and you link these songs, everytime you select track C the browser automatically shows up track A & B. And if you select track A or B the browser automatically shows track C. I think (im not a programmer) this feature might not be very difficult to implement.. :)
marcA 1:33 PM - 17 September, 2010
the problem with these kind of constructions is how many levels deep you want to see... and you don't want cyclic links either...
dj_phonetic 1:40 PM - 17 September, 2010
...And if you select track A or B the browser automatically shows track C... Not deeper than this
The browser shouldnt make suggestions it should only show what you defined as linked or matching.
I often mix different genres and i have a large library.. So its hard for me to remember which songs fit well to others. Crates are to restrictive for me.
marcA 1:44 PM - 17 September, 2010
or sometimes you know a good song but can't remember the title and performer...
dj_phonetic 4:41 PM - 17 September, 2010
Yeah... F***
I'm shure this feature could help to avoid such stuations
kraal 5:09 PM - 17 September, 2010