DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

curious

dj.henri 9:19 PM - 10 October, 2015
I've been working at NYC clubs for 10 years using MixMeister. I want to change to Serato. Which is the best Serato software for me? Very important: I must import 6,000 tracks in 20 categories from MixMeister to Serato. Can that be done?

Also, I am going to buy a DJ Controller. I see many are advertised as "compatible with Serato." Could you please give me a brief explanation how that works, and why that feature may be better?
DJ Art Pumpin Payne 3:13 AM - 11 October, 2015
Quote:
Which is the best Serato software for me?

Quote:
Also, I am going to buy a DJ Controller. I see many are advertised as "compatible with Serato." Could you please give me a brief explanation how that works, and why that feature may be better?

Not sure how you would convert or import tracks from MixMeister to Serato but most flavors of Serato support iTunes so if you use iTunes to do your categories or playists you should be golden.

Serato DJ is your best bet (more professional "high end") version and it supports some (better) hardware natively (no need to purchase a license) - just plug and play.

Read up on it here: serato.com
dj.henri 7:36 AM - 11 October, 2015
The categories are set in MixMeister. I have to re-create the whole thing again in iTunes? What exactly does a DJ Controller compatible with Serato do that is different than one that is not. Now, I simply plug my MixMeister laptop into a mixer at the club. The mixer just plays whatever comes out.
lvmez 1:17 PM - 11 October, 2015
You've been a DJ in NYC for 10 years and you don't know the concept serato?

Controllers that are compatible with Serato means that they control all of Serato functions without touching the laptop. Also means you don't have to midi map any functions.