DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

57 MKII audio delay?

DJ Doug Collins 6:45 PM - 23 May, 2015
Setup:
CDJ1000MK3 or 1200-M5G
Rane 57 MKII
Macbook Air (2015) w/ 8gb RAM

Just getting going with my 57MKII (Been using 57SL since day 1, so I'm not a newbie, I promise). Out of the box and after tweaking the latency to 2ms (1ms caused a drop out almost immediately), I still feel like there is a delay in audio when scratching and beatmatching on CDJs. I'm running a brand new Macbook Air with 8gb of RAM, so I'm pretty sure that isn't the issue. Just kind of curious what kind of settings you guys who are already doing gigs are using with your 57MK2, or seeing if anyone else is having the issue with a significant delay in audio. Thanks in advance.
Rane, Support
Zach S 4:34 PM - 26 May, 2015
Hey Doug,

Although its not as imperative to calibrate when using CDJs I would still do it. That may be your issue. Also make sure the Master Tempo is turned OFF on the CDJs.
iamDjWahdo 1:43 AM - 28 May, 2015
Hey Doug. Hey Zach. I just purchased the 57MK2 about two weeks ago and used it at a gig this past weekend and experienced the same delay issue. I would get a perfect beat match in the headphones and as I go to mix in the track I discovered that on the output main it was slightly off. The actual visual display was off as well.
When I manually synced the mix and then put the headphones back on I noticed the slight delay was now in the headphones.
I spoke with Zach and set the latency to 2ms also but it seems to still be off slightly.
It doesnt seem like its going to be a quick fix so I guess I have to go back to my 56 for this weekends gigs.
Rane, Support
Zach S 4:31 PM - 28 May, 2015
Hey Wahdo,

If you haven't already, please post your own help request so it gets in front of Serato.
If this is an issue it needs to get looked into by them.