DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

old dj, new system

hollywood2010 3:47 AM - 30 July, 2014
Hello everyone. I've been djing since 1984 but since that time we have been using all peavey stuff. a set of SP2's (that we rebuilt about 8 years ago) and peavey amps.

We are older now and tired of lugging around all the old stuff. The peavey stuff seemed very loud and sounded great. I've only had a chance to listen to a few systems and wanted some opinions.

I did order a set of EV ELX118p's for subs and a set of EV ZLX12p's but the ZLX12p's seemed to limit quickly even when set to run with the sub. So I sent them back. Again they just didn't seem as loud as the old Peaveys.

I also listened to the ELX115p's and were pretty impressed. I've not heard the ETX line yet but I don't have $1200 to spend on each speaker.

So I guess to make a long story short I have several questions.

Does anyone still use peavey stuff for gigs? If so what model? I've been to a ton of event and we were the only ones still running it. Also I pulled up the peavey site and now there are tons of choices. Back in the mid 80's I think there were like 2. What seems to be the active line of peavey's people are running now?

What system can take a good beating and still be fine and is loud?

Most all weddings we play are aound 150-250 people but a couple times a year we play an outdoor event for about 800 people.

any recommendations (not flaming) would be recommended.

Sorry but been out of the market for so long, I'm starting back at square one and want to hear for people that actually use the stuff, not someone just trying to sell me things.
dj jamalot 6:09 AM - 30 July, 2014