DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

What makes YOU a good DJ?

Luis Eduardo 6:09 PM - 26 June, 2013
As we all know, the art of DJing comes with a wide range of Egos, shit talking, etc.

I am curious to know...what makes a good DJ?

The way I look at it...people always find a way to talk shit. The following are arguments that can be found on every DJ forum and my PERSONAL take on them:

1. "I've been doing this for 15+ years (20+, 25+, whatever)"

Good for you. Keep doing your thing. I'm sorry not all of us are 45 years old.

2. "Errmergerd he's using sync"

Yes, I agree...every DJ should know how to beat-match by ear. However, if the DJ has a good track selection, mixes in key, and has the crowd moving...who gives a shit...Sync away.

3. "These damn kids and their controllers, I only use vinyl"

False. You don't. You use your 1200's, dicers, and mixer as a Serato controller.

4. "I don't use Serato, I strictly use vinyl records."

Well that's cool. Let's keep in mind that this is 2013. Let's keep in mind that there are a LOT of good up-and-coming producers that do NOT have their music pressed and distributed. Let's keep in mind that there are a lot of unreleased tracks used by DJs that are only available in a digital format.

5. "My technique is flawless...I can scratch, juggle, etc"

Again, awesome..and I have mad respect for you because of that. However, these things are not necessary during a performance. I know plenty of REALLY good DJs that kill the vibe by constantly scratching and juggling. People are their to dance.

6. "I'll play all of your FAVORITE songs and REQUESTS